flash bonus rewards extended

Since I screwed up and the news didn’t make it from WordPress land to Facebook land until the bonus period was almost over, I extended it through midnight tonight: you can get 2X reward program points for any purchases made at Seraphin Station.

You can read more about the rewards program here. It’s free to join, it’s not complicated, and I am always trying to think up new ways folks can earn points without having to spend money.

Reviews and testimonials are a big one. I will give you a ton of points for writing a review or testimonial I can use on the site. Left a Facebook comment a while back and it’s okay if i use it as a testimonial? Great, email me and give me the link or tell me how to find it and I’ll go in and manually award you the points now.

Left a product rating on the product’s actual website page instead of through the contact form? Or left a review on Etsy? Great, email me and let me know and I’ll manually award you the points.

Don’t mind reviewing but don’t want your real name associated with something your mother would have a heart attack about? No problem – just tell me what initials or whatever to put instead.

Want to write a second review a month later and the system won’t give you the points a second time? Email me – I will (within reason – if the whole site has nothing but one person’s reviews, that’s gonna defeat the purpose lol)

Social media is *everything* these days. Seriously – people have to know you exist and talk about you and link to you and visit you before Google will yawn, glance over, grudgingly acknowledge that you might be a shapeless blob over there in the corner, and deign to allow you to turn up in some search results eventually.

Etsy’s algorithms for how visible your items are in search results involve a lot of mysterious things, but one of them is “likes”/”hearts,” according to people who have been doing this a lot longer than I have. It factors in whether people are clicking to leave social evidence that they like something you have.

You know what convinces people who don’t know you that you have something worth checking out? Their sense that other people are checking it out. Most people don’t want to be first.

And so if you take the time to help me get Seraphin Station’s name out there in this baffling and rapidly changing digital world where everything is evaluated by strings of code, I damn sure will take the time to reward you for it. If you don’t mind being first and leaving evidence that you were so somebody else doesn’t have to be, I’ll throw reward points around like confetti and come up with more cool things to redeem them for to the best of my ability.

(And I take suggestions. You want me to bake you cookies? It’s possible we could figure out a way to make that work as a reward. You want me to spend a few hours one Saturday troubleshooting your altar setup plans with you over videoconferencing? That’s not impossible. Do you want me to design you a custom vigil candle with a sigil on it that is indecipherable to the ignorant but that contains both legitimate medieval grimoire elements *and* a snarky Latin bit designed to take the piss out of your roommate? Not out of the realm of possibility. If you think of something, holler and suggest it.)

Leave a comment