HDPE – what it is, why you should care, and how to recycle it at home

My friend Joe is something of a renaissance man (if you ask me – he makes no such claims himself). Among a bunch of other cool things that he does, he recycles HDPE (high density polyethylene plastic) at home to turn it into beautiful food-safe bowls, and he has a tutorial on how to do it. Now, he prettifies his bowls on a lathe (because in addition to being an actual scientist – like with a doctorate and everything – he’s also a woodworker. Because he’s Joe.) But even if you aren’t trying to pick up a lathe and some new chisels this weekend to make kitchen implements from your recycling bin, this blog post of his is still worth a look because it explains what HDPE is, why you should care, and how to identify it.

I haven’t yet been able to move away from plastic in my product packaging, but I’m definitely always looking for the more sustainable option when I make a choice about purchasing new packaging or packing materials. And Joe’s post made it really easy for me to get the bottom line about HDPE versus PET when it comes to ordering my next batch of bottles for my soaps, waters, and washes. A good blog to follow for easy-to-understand info about sustainability.

“Are You Down With HDPE?” at Old School Joes

Leave a comment